Skip to content

Evangelicals in Academic Bible Classes

January 26, 2009

Today was the first day of my New Testament class. One of my students came up to me at the end of class and “warned” me that she was an evangelical Protestant Christian, and that she believed the Bible was true. I assured her that it would not be a problem, and that she was fully welcome to share her perspective in the class.

I can honestly say that I’m happy to have an evangelical in class. Most of the students I have won’t care about the Bible at all. I could tell them the Bible was the word of God or that it was actually written by Satan, and most of my students would probably just ask, “Is that going to be on the test?”

At least now I have someone who will care about the course content. I just hope she’ll also be willing to argue her point when we disagree—that will make the class more interesting for both me and her, and just might engage one or two of the people who seem to think I’m personally responsible for scheduling class during their nap time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

