Skip to content

King James Version

February 8, 2009

These are the lyrics to a real song; I don’t know if it is intended to be satire or not. Probably not.

I tried to get it to put spaces between the stanzas, but no luck.

“King James Version”

Sung by The Sanctified Glory Mountain Revival Family

(words and music public domain)

We knew that in the very last days that knowledge would abound

But there’s something going on today that causes me to frown

As I walk into the Bible bookstores all across the nation

Each time I look there seems to be another new translation

Chorus:

You got the RSV and the ASV and a paraphrase or two

There’s just about any kind you want to fit your point of view

But the thing that bothers me the most is that people cannot see

If John the Baptist used the King James Version it’s good enough for me

It seems that when I talk today I’m wasting precious breath

They tell me that the word is “say” when I know it should be “sayeth”

They’ve taken out all the “thees” and “thous” and replaced all them with “yous”

I know my friend it’s hard to grasp but what I say is true

Chorus

You give a man his Ph.D. and he thinks that he is free

To change around the Word of God to suit his own fancy

If the King James Version was good enough for Paul and Timothy

I tell you brother without a doubt it’s good enough for me

Chorus

But the thing that bothers me the most is that people cannot see

If John the Baptist used the King James Version it’s good enough for me

Give me that old King James Version

Give me that old King James Version

Give me that old King James Version

It’s good enough for John, it’s good enough for Timothy

It’s good enough for Paul, it’s good enough for me

… King James Version … (repeats)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2009 11:46 pm

    This was satire I wrote the song in the early nineties as a joke. All of the songs on the album were played and sung by people 30 or younger. It was a blast to have fun while creating something we thought would just be for our friends and family. It turned out to be so much more

  2. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    March 29, 2009 2:50 pm

    Thom, I’m glad to hear that it is satire! I’ll tell my students that when we discuss it.

Leave a Reply

