Skip to content

Against Taco Bell

May 3, 2009

tacobell

I’m a vegetarian. As such, I appreciate it that Taco Bell has a number of meat-free products on their menu.

Unfortunately it is hard to get those items.

Sometime when I order them they make them wrong (apparently because the workers aren’t properly trained how to make them?). The 7-layer crunch wrap is not supposed to have lettuce on it!

Worse yet, sometimes when I order them they put beef on them anyway.

Damn it.

I just wanted to register my frustration.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. steph permalink
    May 4, 2009 12:16 am

    I’ve never heard of Taco Bell but I’ll never go there now. :-)

  2. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    May 4, 2009 7:47 am

    Never heard of Taco Bell? You mean they haven’t yet spread across the globe like that McDonald’s contagion?

  3. May 4, 2009 4:54 pm

    They put beef on them? :/

    Well anyway, we don’t have such a thing here either as far as I know. Maybe London does?

  4. momentary de lurking permalink
    May 4, 2009 10:08 pm

    Yeah, and the ingredients they use are pretty sketch to begin with, both in terms of quality, the chemicals they use, and the working conditions for those who grow and harvest the ingredients. Its just bad news all around.

    (this made me feel nostalgic for 2am taco bell runs with my room-mates freshman year, before being educated about food sovereignty and becoming, in a good way, local food snobs… the farmers market is always closed at 2am).

  5. TacoBellLover permalink
    June 1, 2009 9:52 am

    Why would you go to Taco Bell as a vegetarian? You want a taco shell with lettuce and tomatoes?

    Btw… On Taco Bell’s website they have a “Why Pay More Dance” where you can put in a custom face on your dancing characters. You sir are in my dance.

  6. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    June 1, 2009 9:54 am

    When they fix them right, I think the Seven Layer Crunch Wraps and the 1/2 Pound Cheesy Bean and Rice Burritos are excellent. It’s not just lettuce and tomatoes: they have beans, rice, spicy sauces, cheese, etc. …

  7. June 3, 2009 8:40 pm

    Fuck You vegatarian it’s only your problem.

  8. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    June 3, 2009 9:10 pm

    You don’t expect me to take that seriously, do you?

  9. TacoB3llH8r permalink
    June 9, 2009 8:57 am

    I totally understand all of your frustration! The other day I went to Burger King to get the new “Angry Whopper” without the meat, bacon, cheese, peppers, and onions. The workers actually gave me meat, cheese, lettuce, tomato and a chicken nugget. Seriously? Was this a personal stab against my lifestyle choice? How hard is it to get a bun with the angry sauce and a delicious vegetarian salad? I’m a vegetarian on the go for crying out loud! I don’t have time to stop and eat a salad! I want it between two buns… IS THIS TOO MUCH TO ASK? I will be writing a stern letter to the manager first thing in the morning, that is if I can wake up with all this meat clogging my arteries. I know, I shouldn’t have eaten it, but I took a walk on the wild side. It was awful. It tasted like death of innocent animals.

  10. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    June 9, 2009 9:28 am

    Hmmm, I can’t tell if you’re mocking me or not.

    If not, a chicken nugget? Tools …

  11. TacoB3llH8r permalink
    June 9, 2009 10:18 am

    It was a bunch of teenagers working. I think they were trying to mock me!

  12. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    June 9, 2009 10:39 am

    It seems like the term “asswipe” might be appropriate for them …

  13. TacoB3llH8r permalink
    June 12, 2009 10:54 am

    http://www.glossynews.com/artman/publish/taco-bell-participation-may-vary-1530.shtml

    Who are you? Herbert Dalham? So you own a Taco Bell? I want to know the REAL story. What are you trying to pull here?

  14. lety permalink
    August 9, 2009 3:09 pm

    … and those are not even real tacos … you can trust me Im mexican

  15. lety permalink
    August 9, 2009 3:13 pm

    … and those aren’t even real tacos … trust me I’m mexican

  16. Grl29 permalink
    September 6, 2009 4:53 pm

    I think it’s rude and stupid of people to be criticizing you for being a vegetarian and wanting fast food. You should be able to get a meat free item at all of your favorite food places. Just as there should be low fat items for the obese and low sugar for diabetics… we should all be able to get something and get it correctly. I’m not a vegetarian, but I also have had problems at not just Taco Bell but most fast food chains, getting my order messed up. So lets not take it all out on Taco Bell… but yeah I agree that is annoying. Sorry about your experience.

  17. September 13, 2009 7:18 pm

    go to taco bell as veggie? ur dumb

  18. John Dough permalink
    September 14, 2009 4:11 pm

    I think vegetarians are hypocritical, but oh well..

  19. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    September 14, 2009 4:23 pm

    I’m sure some are; would you like to elaborate?

  20. dylan calhoun permalink
    October 10, 2009 9:00 am

    hahaha youre so ridiculous its sickening…
    after spending a year working at Tacobell i can assure you anything 7 layer does get lettuce, go order a 7 layer burrito if you want proof. I cant help it if employees arent trained enough to make a crunchwrap properly, but really i doubt thats the case.

    want vegetarian? go for the bean burrito… thats what its there for. otherwise dont complain about the meat on the menu.

    it’s freakin’ fast food restaurant, what the hell do you expect? you think your complaining/protesting is actually going to get you anywhere? i promise you it wont, that’s coming from an Ivy League student.

  21. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    October 10, 2009 10:21 am

    See here (http://www.dietfacts.com/html/nutrition-facts/taco-bell-7-layer-crunchwrap-hearty-beans-warm-nacho-cheese-sauce-zesty-red-sauce-crispy-re49094.htm).

    The 7 layer crunch wrap is NOT supposed to have lettuce.

    About the rest of your comments: you’re an idiot.

  22. Shana 'de tyson permalink
    October 13, 2009 7:22 am

    Ummm, Taco Bell is the beat thing EVER!!!!

  23. timito permalink
    October 26, 2009 11:50 am

    taco bell is freakin awesome man

  24. October 26, 2009 3:19 pm

    mi perro se llama tacobell y se parece…..!☻♥☺

  25. Lola permalink
    November 11, 2009 12:48 am

    If your a vegetarian, then why don’t you WANT lettuce on your crunchwrap? I’m a vegetarian, and personally I love getting the crunchwraps without meat (and I’ve never had to much of a problem getting it ordered right). I always get lettuce on it, without even asking, so I’m convinced that yes, it does come with it.

  26. November 18, 2009 9:09 am

    no tacco bell are not spread across the glob, well they dont have branches here in england thats for sure.

    anyway, it seems like all of their customers who consume their meat are 96% vegitarian, as the meat in their products are actually only 4% MEAT!!

    tacco bell, do not come to england. we already have mcdonalds, BK and KFC making our nation FAT

  27. Amai permalink
    November 22, 2009 1:15 am

    Just because someone can’t make your food right, doesn’t mean that all taco bells suck. And if they put meat on your food, go back, and get them to fix it. The reason most employees aren’t trained to make seven layer crunchwraps is that they are RARELY ordered. Most of the training is learned by doing, and that’s something most employees hardly, if ever, have to do.

  28. JIBJKJKB permalink
    November 23, 2009 10:04 pm

    why would this old dude go to taco bell if hes a vegetarian thats the stupidest thing go somewhere else to eat dont take it away for ur own personal reasons because most of the ppl do like taco bell u people that hate it must be cracked if u are a vegetarian go eat at home go somewhere like maybe hmmmm a supermarket cause most of the world is made of meat ustedes son unos estupidos para quitar a taco bell si no comen carne y si no me comprenden usen google.com/translate duhhh..

  29. TACO BELL GOD permalink
    December 4, 2009 10:12 am

    ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?! TACO BELL IS THE BEST THING THAT HAS HAPPENED TO ME!!!! I’VE MEMORIZED THE MENU BY NOW, I’VE BEEN THERE SOOO MANY TIMES. IT IS MY FAVORITE RESTARAUNT, AND IS BETTER THAN ANY OTHER MEXICAN FOOD. PERSONALLY I RECOMMEND EITHER THE NEW DOUBLE STEAK GRANDE QUESADILLA, THE DISCONTINUED BACON CHESSY POTATO BURRITO, AND THE FRUITISA FREEZE. TACO BELL IS THE BEST FOOD YOU CAN GET. I SAY IF YOU CAN EAT IT, ITS REAL. SERIOUSLY, ITS CHEAP AND DELICIOUS. LISTEN TO THE FATTY WITHIN.

  30. trojan permalink
    January 4, 2010 10:47 am

    go their its a picture of a 7 layer crunch wrap and it DOES have lettece i dont think anyone photoshoped lettece into the picture

  31. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    January 4, 2010 10:52 am

    Dumbass—that’s the regular crunch wrap, not a 7 layer crunch wrap. You can obviously see the beef on the thing.

Leave a Reply

