Skip to content

Women Rock Too

May 18, 2009

It seems like for every Pat Benatar there are a hundred male lead singers out there. Women have a hard time making it big in the rock music industry, and have an even harder time with longevity. In order to show my support for women in the music industry, I thought I would share some of my recent finds. I’ve starred my favorites.

Unfortunately some of them had “embedding disabled.” So you’ll have to go that extra mile and click on them twice instead of just once. I know that’s a lot to ask, but I’m guessing my readers might be up to the task.

FYI: I do not necessarily endorse the exploitation of sexuality present in some of the following videos.

The Dollyrots:

Go Betty Go:

Dover:

**The Donnas:

Slunt:

Hydrogyn:

The Soviettes:

**Britt Black:

**Damone:

7 Comments leave one →
  1. roland permalink
    May 18, 2009 1:12 pm

    Brilliant post – the scruffier, the better

  2. Jonathan permalink
    May 18, 2009 6:28 pm

    no offense but most of this stuff is just junky. some of these groups probably got together with good intentions, but by trying so hard to be mainstream it’s practically inevitable for them to avoid becoming hypersexualized. There are lots of underground punk and indie bands that have chosen not to go that route. My favorite is Lemuria:

  3. Jonathan permalink
    May 18, 2009 6:36 pm

    I meant to say “it’s practically IMPOSSIBLE for them to avoid becoming hypersexualized.” Instead I wrote something that made little sense.

  4. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    May 18, 2009 7:03 pm

    Hi Jonathan! No offense taken, but I’ll respectfully disagree. As a guitarist, what I love about rock music is good guitar work and guitar solos. I typically pay little attention to the lyrics, and I found all of these bands through Pandora, not through their videos. As a result, hypersexualization didn’t enter into it when I found them. I think The Donnas, Damone, and Britt Black in particular do a great job of maintaining some awesome AC/DC and Kiss style guitar work.

    Also, I’m slightly ambivalent about sexualization. On the one hand I think sex is something that should be celebrated, not hidden. On the other hand I think it can be exploited. So, I don’t know whether the sexualization of these types of bands is good or bad.

    However, I did find the Lemuria song to be pretty cool; I’ll definitely be checking them out.

  5. Jonathan permalink
    May 18, 2009 8:39 pm

    I’d say I’m mostly ambivalent about sexualization as well, except for how it homogenizes these types of bands. It’s hard for me to tell one from the next visually. If I was just listening to their music with no visual aid, I guess I’d probably be able to tell them apart easily, but since most of it isn’t really my cup of tea musically, I guess I wouldn’t ever get around to spending time doing so. I just think that it’s probably the easy route to choose to be a sexy band in your visual representation, whereas coming up with something a bit more interesting is probably tougher.

  6. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    May 19, 2009 5:28 am

    I won’t disagree with you there …

  7. May 20, 2009 10:55 am

    the scruffier, the better

    OMFG! That’s why you always stay at backpacker hostels and shit, huh?

    You like scruffy but the crazyheads at the homeless shelters kinda scare you.

Leave a Reply

