Skip to content

Praising Students

May 29, 2009
tags:

Bookmark and Share

In my opinion there is no better way to build rapport with students that to praise them. For this reason I’ve instituded the following practice.

Every semester, about 5 or 6 weeks in (by which time I have a sense of who’s a strong student and who is not), I pick out 3 to 5 of the top students in each class and ask them to make an appointment to see me. When they come to my office I tell them that they’re smart and they’re doing excellent work in my course, that I’m really glad to have them there, and that they should take more religion classes. “You’re the kind of student we want!”

Not only do they leave my office knowing that someone think’s they are smart, but I’ve been lucky enough to have some of them take more classes with me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 30, 2009 7:27 am

    I bet if my teachers tried a bit of the old flattery on me I’d read the books they set me ^_^
    Alas, tis not to be.

Leave a Reply

