Skip to content

Things Not to Say to a Vegetarian

June 8, 2009

Saying to a vegetarian, “I couldn’t be a vegetarian because I love meat so much,” is about as dumb as saying to a feminist, “I couldn’t be a feminist because I love dominating women so much.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2009 5:26 pm

    Ya, good way to put it.

    I think the most basic thing not to say to a vegetarian is, “So why are you a vegetarian?”

  2. June 8, 2009 10:04 pm

    I’m not fond of that, but it’s better than when they launch into a diatribe about how humans are supposed to eat meat because yadda yadda yadda, and it’s unnatural/unhealthy to not eat meat because yadda yadda yadda.

  3. June 9, 2009 12:45 am

    Yes, it’s sickening. And I must have heard that many times during my vegetarian years (ashamed to say that they are in the past). I never minded being asked why I was a vegetarian; in fact, I rather liked to get the chance to talk to people about animal rights. I always struggled with those who treated my vegetarianism as somehow the equivalent of being a “fussy” eater.

  4. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    June 9, 2009 9:25 am

    macon d: I don’t mind being asked why—for me it’s an opportunity to spread the word about factory farming …

    Buffy: Yes, I had someone tell me recently that I should go see a nutritionist. I have family members who tell me that God put animals here for us to eat. How can you respond to that bs? Depending on my mood, I’ll either say “well, even if God did, I’m sure he wouldn’t support animal cruelty, which is what we have in factory farms,” or, if I’m in a bad mood, I’ll say “God couldn’t have done that because God doesn’t exist.”

    Mark: Yes, the “fussy” eater thing bugs me. Even when they don’t act like you’re a fussy eater, they often make a big deal about the whole thing—especially at big holiday events like Thanksgiving …

Leave a Reply

