Skip to content

You Can Trust Me

June 11, 2009

I came across the following dialogue from Bulgakov’s The Master and Margarita, which was quoted in an essay I was reading today. It’s pretty funny:

“Your story is extraordinarily interesting, Professor, even if it bears no relation whatsoever to the gospel accounts.”

“I beg your pardon”, replied the professor, with a condescending smile, “You of all people should know that absolutely nothing written in the gospels ever happened in actual fact….”

“That’s true…, but I’m afraid no one can confirm that what you told us actually took place either.”

“Oh, no! There is someone who can confirm it!” retorted the professor… “The fact is…” at this point the professor looked around nervously and began speaking in a whisper, “I myself witnessed the whole thing. I was there….”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

