Skip to content

Blogging During the Summer

June 20, 2009
tags:

I’ve found that blogging during the summer suffers from some motivation problems. I’m not sure why. It’s not that I’m not reading or following the news. I just don’t have a lot I feel like I have to say, and I don’t want to reduce my blog to aggregating news stories.

Teaching undergraduates has a number of challenges that get me fired up—one of the key motivations to blog during the semester is to comment on some obnoxious, ignorant, or racist thing a student said. Maybe I’m not blogging as much because students aren’t provoking me.

Maybe I blog during the semester in order to procrastinate, and now that I’m not working as much I have less need to blog to procrastinate?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    June 20, 2009 2:03 pm

    or- maybe you blog less in the summer because your brain is resting up.

  2. June 20, 2009 2:11 pm

    I think the procrastinate one is kind of true for most people.

    However if you need someone to say offensive things for you to get fired up about I am looking for something to keep me occupied over the summer months myself!

Leave a Reply

