Skip to content

Summer Reading Meme

August 14, 2009

Uh oh! I’ve been tagged by Dave over at Though Cowards Flinch! I’ve got to say what I’ve been reading over the summer holiday break. I’ve been reading a lot, so I’ll just list some highlights.

Fiction:LGW300

  • A few Dean Koontz novels
  • Several Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child books, including a few of their Pendergast novels, which I really enjoy
  • Martin Millar’s Lonely Werewolf Girl, which was a riot, as well as his The Good Fairies of New York, which was okay
  • A couple of Christopher Moore books (I hated Coyote Blue, but I’m loving Island of the Sequined Love Nun)
  • David Sedaris’ When You Are Engulfed in Flames, which had me laughing out loud many many times

Nonfiction:

  • Erving Goffman’s The Presentation of Self in Everyday Life, which is awesome
  • An Invitation to Social Construction, by Kenneth Gergen, who is not enough of a philosopher to write rigorously about this topic
  • Bruce Lincoln’s Emerging from the Chrysalis and Death, War, and Sacrifice, both of which are super awesome–I’ve also been re-reading (or skimming through) some of his other books I’ve already read
  • I’ve been re-reading a number of things by Foucault
  • I’ve been re-reading a number of things by Bourdieu, and reading Distinction from scratch
  • Wayne Proudfoot’s Religious Experience
  • Judith Lorber’s Paradoxes of Gender, which is already one of my all-time favorite books on sex and gender
  • Lee Braver’s A Thing of This World, which is an incredibly well-written history of continental philosphy from Kant to Derrida, focusing on the topic of what analytic philosophers call “realism”
  • I just started Durkheim’s The Rules of Sociological Method
  • I haven’t gotten to it yet, but I hope I have time to read Norbert Elias’ The Civlizing Process before the summer is over

Okay, I’ll tag a few others: anyone over at The Dunedin School, Brad at Brad’s Words, Alderson at Directionless Bones, and what’s-his-name over at Vulgar Marxism. I’d love to hear what you all are reading this summer!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 11:58 am

    He of the warm fork already has his up: http://directionlessbones.wordpress.com/2009/08/10/holiday-reading-meme/

  2. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    August 14, 2009 12:20 pm

    Oh yea, I remember seeing that. I added that Conservatism book to my wish list …

  3. August 28, 2009 4:25 pm

    I appreciate the link, sir.

    Here are the books I’ve started (since I am incredibly guilty of starting many and finishing few, but my girlfriend says that’s okay, since some books might not be worth finishing). The list moves from recent finds to stuff I started back in May:

    – Lament For A Son, by Nicholas Wolterstorff – A friend of mine had her younger brother killed in a random accident, and I knew him, so I’ve been looking for some solace here and there.
    – Being Logical: A Guide to Good Thinking, by D. Q. McInerny – I got this because of my new-found love for Vulcans. The book attempts to be akin to Strunk and White’s ‘Elements of Style’
    – The Need for Roots, by Simone Weil – Reading ahead for a class on her Political Theology that I’m taking this fall
    – Jesus and the Disinherited, by Howard Thurman – Re-reading this, since I may use it in my masters thesis.
    – Invisible Man, by Ralph Ellison – Because I’ve never read it. Shame on me, cause it’s good!
    – White Theology: Outing Supremacy in Modernity, by James W. Perkinson – A good approach to life for postcolonial whiteys like myself. I’m taking a class on Dismantling White Privilege this fall, and I was happy to know we’ll be reading it.
    – Race, by Studs Terkel – There are some amazing interviews in this book…

    I also started the Cartoon History of the Universe, which is fun bedside reading…

Trackbacks

  1. Summer Reading (in the Winter) Meme « The Dunedin School

Leave a Reply

