Skip to content

I’m Really Not a Jerk

August 15, 2009

nice guy2I recently admitted to a friend of mine that I’m secretly the author of Missives from Marx. His response was something like this:

Wow, I never would have guessed it was you. You’re not like that in person at all; you’re nice.

Okay, I’m totally exaggerating; it didn’t go down exactly like this. However, the “exaggeration” part is kind of the point: Missives from Marx is a place for me to rant and rave and exaggerate—it is one side of me but not all of me. I’m really a nice guy! My blog is the place where I get to be Mr. Hyde.

I hate Kierkegaard (okay, I don’t really hate him, I just don’t see what the big deal is), but he was sure on to something with the multiple pseudonym thing!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2009 9:59 pm

    I didn’t notice anything abrasive in the slightest. I’m abrasive. you’re positively polite.

  2. John permalink
    August 16, 2009 1:59 pm

    I guess it’s no coincidence that Elmo is *red*!

  3. August 16, 2009 2:34 pm

    I didn’t know you were a guy. Come to think of it, my daughter thought Big Bird was a girl. Are you sure you should have come out like that? Little girls everywhere may be traumatized. Wait, that just plays into the “not a nice guy” meme. Carry on.

Leave a Reply

