Skip to content

Wow! Now I Know!

August 25, 2009

One of my family members today enlightened me: black people are poor not because they are racially inferior nor because of racism, but because their culture makes them lazy.

Seriously.

As of now, the only responses that seem appropriate are:

  1. physical violence, or
  2. “You’re a f*@kng idiot who doesn’t know what the f*@k he’s talking about.”

However, I’m guessing that neither of these would make any headway in the conversation.

Also, this just in: my laid-off family member with no job and no health insurance still thinks that universal health care will be nothing other than the harbinger of the apocalypse.

This is why I am a Gramscian: ideology makes the world go around.

In the US those of us on the left are pretty much entirely impotent in the face of the hegemonic conservative ideology. I feel like rooting for disaster just so I can say “I told you so.”

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Vidya permalink
    August 25, 2009 11:14 pm

    Imagine how ridiculous it looks to those of us watching from up here (Canada). Even Obama looks right-of-centre by our standards.

    Of course, we do have our own brand of racism — plenty of white folks would make the same statements your family member made about First Nations’ people.

  2. August 26, 2009 6:20 pm

    Well, I’m glad you didn’t resort to violence. That would be dragging us white folk down to their level.

    Oh wait. I think I’m on the wrong blog…

  3. bradcorban permalink
    August 28, 2009 3:39 pm

    I agree to the whole “rooting for disaster” strategy.

    This is why I like Process Theology. No assurance of eschatological hope. Lots of theologians don’t like the Process model, but I say they just need to suck it up and deal with the fact that humans might bring about our own extinction. And if we actually do that, I’m not going to be terribly upset. I just want to dolphins to make it.

    PS – How do I get my name on the comments to link to my blog?

  4. August 28, 2009 3:43 pm

    Test

  5. August 28, 2009 3:44 pm

    Well, when I logged out and wrote a comment, it asked for my website, which I provided, and for which it provided a link. Maybe it won’t ask that if you’re already logged in as a WordPress user?

  6. August 29, 2009 3:55 pm

    Any time I hear nonsense like that my response is to roll my eyes and end the conversation. There’s no reasoning with idiots of that caliber.

  7. Jimsley permalink
    August 31, 2009 4:23 pm

    Although it would appear that Toussaint L’Overture would have probably agreed with your family member.

  8. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    August 31, 2009 4:42 pm

    Who’s that?

  9. Jimsley permalink
    September 1, 2009 3:49 pm

    The fact that you had to ask who Toussaint is just shows a lack of information regarding history of the western hemisphere. Or a lack of ability or desire to use Google.

    So FYI. Toussaint was the leader of the only successful slave rebellion in the western hemisphere. He was the George Washington of Haiti. Had he not been imprisoned by Napoleon it would have significantly modified the history of the Caribbean.

    Specifically, Tousaint believed that the only way for his country to prosper independently was for the freed Africans to move away from their cultural predisposition to subsistence farming.

    Not an exact parallel, but not inexact either.

  10. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    September 1, 2009 4:27 pm

    So, you’re saying that Toussaint thought blacks were lazy too?

  11. Jimsley permalink
    September 1, 2009 4:41 pm

    No, I’m saying that Toussaint thought that if the freed ex African slaves were to build a society similar to the rest of the western world at the time, they would not be able to build it on a base of subsistence farming. It seems important to note that the attachment to subsistence farming was cultural not through laziness. These were the same freed slaves who had defeated the armies of France, Spain and Britain in order to gain independence. Laziness was not the problem, culture was. It would seem that subsequent history had proven him correct.

Leave a Reply

