Skip to content

RSS Feeds and Page Hits

September 20, 2009

Does anyone know the answer to this question? If you read a post via an RSS feed in Google Reader, for example, does it register as a “hit” on the blog? I don’t get very many hits, but I wonder if more people are following the blog through my RSS feed; maybe their readership is invisible to me because of the way the system works?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2009 1:29 pm

    I don’t think it does register – well, that’s the excuse I use for lack of hits anyway. I have recently registered with feedburner that does look at the number of people subscribing to blog feeds without visiting.

  2. Alderson Warm-Fork permalink
    September 20, 2009 1:43 pm

    I think that’s what ‘syndicated views’ are? If you look at a particular post’s view history there’s two lines, one for one-site views and one for syndicated. But I might be wrong.

  3. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    September 20, 2009 1:47 pm

    Alderson, I never saw that before. Thanks for pointing that out.

    Richard: what does feedburner do? Other than allow you to track RSS feed subscriptions?

  4. September 20, 2009 1:55 pm

    I only set it up for myself a couple of days ago but tracking subscriptions (including methods (reader / netvibes / yahoo etc and reader locations) seems to be pretty much it.

    Taken together with visitor stats it seems to give a pretty good overview of who’s reading your stuff.

  5. September 20, 2009 8:05 pm

    Another nice thing about feedburner is it lets people subscribe to a blog by email (like an email listserv) as well as by RSS feed. This is nice for people who don’t use an feed reader, but do use email. And it also gives you lots of stats.

  6. September 21, 2009 8:42 am

    I don’t know about reading through google reader registering as a “hit,” but I know you can go into google reader and search the blog through “Add a subscription” and your blog has 60 subscribers.

  7. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    September 21, 2009 4:46 pm

    If I sign up for feedburner will it mess with the existing RSS feed? I.e., will people be unsubscribed or will the existing feed stop?

  8. September 21, 2009 6:50 pm

    I think if you pipe your feed through Feedburner, nothing will happen to the existing subscribers, but unless they re-subscribe to the new feed, Feedburner won’t collect any traffic stats on them.

  9. September 22, 2009 1:39 pm

    Yeah, I think Nathan is right.

Leave a Reply

