Skip to content

Pure Awesomeness

November 11, 2009

I found this on Facebook; it was suggested by a colleague who is frustrated by the fact that her students keep calling her “Miss” instead of “Doctor.”

I just had a brilliant idea about this, which I’m sure won’t get me into trouble at all—I think I might start making people address me as “Dr. Vagina” to emphasize that I have both a Ph.D. and am female and that unlike matter, the these two things can and do occupy the same space.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    November 11, 2009 5:55 pm

    um- gross. that means males will have to go around calling themselves dr. testicles. no thanks.

  2. Vidya permalink
    November 11, 2009 7:34 pm

    @Jim – Well, no, they wouldn’t, because no one assumes that being male and a PhD-holder are mutually incompatible states of being.

  3. November 12, 2009 9:29 pm

    Or you could run universities like in the UK and Australasia. You could recognise that since university students and the workers who teach them are all adults, calling each other by first names as adults do – except when addressing the police or when in court or the army – would be okay.

    So Dr. Respect My Authority here could just be called “Vagina”, or if she was an in an Aussie university, “Vag”.

    “The copier is broken again, Vag. Do you know what the flashing yellow light means?”

  4. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    November 13, 2009 9:15 am

    I’ll let my students call me by my first name, but female professors and minority professors tend to have (dis)respect issues, which requires some ways of establishing authority.

  5. November 23, 2009 6:49 pm

    So be it (and I’ve been away from the interweb a while!) but that’s a liberal approach, not a Marxist one.

Leave a Reply

