Skip to content

It Makes Me Feel All Warm and Fuzzy

December 7, 2009

Despite my huge anxieties about teaching lately, I have had some good things happen to me! Here’s one.

I have to say that there’s hardly anything more flattering than having non-majors sign up to take more of your courses when they don’t have to. Next semester it looks like about 20% of the students who’ve signed up for my courses have had me before and are back for more!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 8:43 am

    I think they call that Stockholm Syndrome…

  2. December 8, 2009 2:17 pm

    Congrats! I know I’d want to take your courses.

  3. fuzzytheory permalink
    December 13, 2009 5:24 pm

    Good work! I sometimes wonder about how I can figure out how well the courses I teach are going. I often spend the whole semester unsure, and really only find out in the end what students think. This semester, last day of class, I had students coming up and being all ‘great class’ and stuff, but I don’t buy it–there was still grading to do. What convinced me was two comments: “I changed my major to religion” and “Are you teaching anything else next semester?” And the disappointment when I replied that I wasn’t. Makes up for last year when students pilloried me in the last day of one class. But at least I knew that one was going poorly.

    How well do you know how your courses are going through the term? I have a hard time. So, I try not to think about it too much anymore.

  4. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    December 15, 2009 12:36 pm

    fuzzytheory: how do I know how my courses are going? I wish I knew. I pretty much have a dour self-evaluation. A lot of that has to do with my personal anxiety. Anything I can possibly get anxious about will do.

Leave a Reply

