Skip to content

Apparently I’m More Guarded than I Thought

December 10, 2009

I don’t use the classroom as a platform for my religious and political views, although those inform and inflect what and how I teach. Generally I am guarded, and I never answer direction questions about my religion or my political stance.

However, I usually figure students should be able to implicitly figure out where I stand.

But today students were asking and guessing—and they guessed that I was conservative. Wow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Classical Liberal permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:11 pm

    I wouldn’t worry about it. It’s probably a good sign. Having recently graduated from a small, liberal arts university myself, I can tell you that students who play this sort of guessing game generally will project their own beliefs on the blank screen that is their hard-to-pin-down professor.
    And based on your descriptions of your own school, I imagine there are a lot of privileged, white, conservative students.
    (I am a lurker, by the way. I find your blog to be a refreshing and interesting look at the ideas of a thoughtful person with whose politics I disagree, but whom I think I would like, did I know him.)

  2. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    December 16, 2009 1:25 pm

    Classical Liberal, that is a really nice compliment! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

