Skip to content

Lurkers?

December 13, 2009

I’m curious about those who lurk. Would any of you be introduced in introducing yourselves? Maybe telling me what you enjoy (or not) about my blog?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    December 13, 2009 8:53 pm

    I’m not in Religious Studies, but I like how you teach & how you talk about teaching.

  2. Stephanie permalink
    December 13, 2009 9:13 pm

    I’m a college student. I found your site when you guest-posted on Sociological Images. I like reading commentary on religion because I was raised Christian but I’m progressing toward agnosticism/atheism. So I like reading your blog because you bring new facts/ideas to my attention; also, you express more articulately some things that I’ve already thought myself.

  3. December 13, 2009 11:54 pm

    Dunno if I count as a lurker, as I’ve commented a couple of times. I came for the social justice talk (seriously don’t remember what I link I followed, nor from where), and initially stayed for that.

    Things I particularly enjoy about your blog: posts that reveal/challenge my cognitive frames (or help me understand the frames other people are using); anything and everything about your students.

  4. daniel permalink
    December 14, 2009 3:02 am

    I just navigated here today when I did a search for ‘jz smith and william james.’ Wouldn’t mind an RSS feed to start following….

  5. rhiannonproblematising permalink
    December 14, 2009 3:09 am

    I came for the Marxism and stayed for the religion.

  6. December 14, 2009 10:20 am

    I’m not a lurker on this blog, but I do lurk outside your home sometimes and rummage through your trash. You should separate your organic and inorganic garbage more carefully. You’re throwing away some stuff that would be better composted or recycled.

  7. Jonathan permalink
    December 14, 2009 3:28 pm

    I’ve posted comments a couple times on here. I’m a PhD student of cultural anthropology at Tulane University. It’s hard to find good blogs, and I like yours.

  8. Dana permalink
    December 14, 2009 5:31 pm

    I used to teach undergraduate feminist theory and love how you talk about pedagogy. And I love Marx.

  9. fuzzytheory permalink
    December 14, 2009 5:46 pm

    I teach Religious Studies. I like bits of most ideologies dealing with social justice, feminism, intersectionality. That’s what got me here. The pedagogical and academic stuff is a bonus.

  10. bell permalink
    December 14, 2009 8:17 pm

    I’m a high school student; I’m into Marxism and I’m also interested in the study of religion, as a Jewish atheist at Catholic school.

  11. December 14, 2009 10:19 pm

    I’m a comp lit undergrad recently interested in religious studies.

  12. December 15, 2009 11:30 am

    I’ve commented a couple of times. I’m a philosophy & law grad student at Harvard. I have mixed feelings about the blog — when you talk about philosophical issues, you outrun your arguments quite a bit, which irks me. And I don’t like the expressions of frustration at your students (I’m always worried they’ll read it and recognize themselves). But it’s always thought provoking and occasionally deeply insightful, so I’m staying tuned.

  13. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    December 15, 2009 12:37 pm

    Daniel, if you use Google Reader, you can search for Missives from Marx from within the reader and sign up. I don’t know where my RSS feed button went. It must have disappeared when I changed themes awhile back. I’ll try to fix it!

  14. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    December 15, 2009 12:41 pm

    Everyone else: thanks for the comments. I appreciate that there are people out there reading my tripe!

    Duckrabbit: yes, I fully realize that the philosophical bits are problematic—I don’t think philosophy proper can be done in a blog format. I’m much more sophisticated as a philosopher in my publications than I am here.

  15. designprof permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:17 pm

    I happened upon your blog via Sociological Images and suppose I lean to the left. In general I am fascinated by those that teach religious studies as I try to stay as far away from religion as possible. Also, I enjoy reading blogs by academics; I teach visual communications at a state university.

  16. December 15, 2009 11:17 pm

    Re: subscribing to the blog via RSS… you can use this in your feed-reader of choice: https://missivesfrommarx.wordpress.com/feed/

    (Google Reader is great)

  17. December 16, 2009 11:48 am

    I’m a PHD student from a strongly theological theology department, whereas my work is a little bit more porous than the majority of people working there. I’m also very interested in Marx’s understanding of religion. Therefore your reflections, from a religious studies perspective, are fascinating to me, as well a breath of fresh air, often witnessed in your ability to call a spade a spade.

  18. December 18, 2009 7:42 pm

    late to de-lurk.

    i enjoy the blog, sometimes teach a biblical survey class @ a Christian university, regularly teaching intro to sociology & intro to philosophy @ a private junior college.

  19. Mickey Gallagher permalink
    December 19, 2009 7:21 pm

    I’m a Marxist who was in seminary for a semester many years ago, and I’ve continued to be interested in the intersection of Marxist thought and Christianity, particularly in the works of Ernst Bloch, Kautsky and Zizek. I found your blog on Roland Boer’s blogroll.

  20. December 21, 2009 12:05 am

    I’ve just stumbled across your blog tonight, so I don’t know if I count as a lurker yet. I’ve seen a lot of posts that are intriguing to me, so I’ll probably continue to lurk/occasionally comment. As for who I am, I will finish my undergrad degree in the spring in interdisciplinary studies, focusing on philosophy and literature. My main interests are philosophical, and I’m hopefully going to grad school somewhere next fall.

Leave a Reply

