Skip to content

Country Music

February 10, 2010

Not sure if this is satire or not; seems about the same as what we hear on the radio:

Found over at The Gaytheist Agenda.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 11:01 am

    Oh, you disappoint me MfM. Why the stereotyping and the ridicule? Have you ever listened to a country station for an extended period of time?

    I’m not much of a fan of country music, but I was raised with enough of it that I’ll always think well of it. The “my dog died and my darlin’ left me” characterizations are bad enough, but at least they’re pretty innocent. This is just ugly.

    I did think the “God’s answer to Barbara Streisand” comment at the end was pretty funny, though.

  2. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    February 10, 2010 11:04 am

    I’m actually a fan of country music, but it still strikes me as white, heteronormative, nationalist, xenophobic …

  3. February 10, 2010 11:17 am

    I’m I reading you right, that you’re a fan of “heteronormative, nationalist, xenophobic” stuff? You’re totally going to ruin your street cred saying that sort of thing.

    Seriously, though, if you truly believe that country music entails all of these sorts of vices, why are you a fan of it? I mean, I’m happy to defend country, but only because I think you’re unfairly criticizing the genre.

  4. February 10, 2010 11:18 am

    *Am I reading you right

  5. February 10, 2010 12:30 pm

    Evan,

    Maybe I’m wrong here but I thought Missives was just passing along a funny clip from a MadTV segment that does have some correspondence to reality of country on the radios today then clarified to state that he likes some of it whilst still holding the criticisms.

    Again, maybe I’m wrong.

  6. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    February 10, 2010 12:43 pm

    Evan, see my latest post.

  7. February 10, 2010 12:44 pm

    No, I get it… it’s just a funny clip, but its criticism has some basis in reality, but MfM likes country music anyway, but MfM still likes offering criticisms of country music, but he only does this by just passing along funny clips, but they have some basis in reality, but… etc. etc.

    I just don’t see the point. Nor, I suppose, the basis in reality. And I certainly didn’t see the whole Marxist-country-music-fan thing coming. That would totally blow the plausibility of the just-funny-maybe-satirical characterization that he was passing on to us.

    Because, you know, if Marxists and radicals like country music too, then how much room does that leave for Darlene McBride as a viable straw-woman? ;)

Leave a Reply

