Skip to content

I’m a Grouch Sometimes

March 8, 2010

Ek-cetera is not a word.

An antidote is not a story. An anecdote is a story.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. nomadologist permalink
    March 8, 2010 12:35 pm

    “Ek-cetera is not a word.”

    Nor is it abbreviated “ect.”

  2. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    March 8, 2010 12:36 pm

    I know, right!?

  3. peebles permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:10 pm

    ex-presso, dammit.

  4. Vidya permalink
    March 9, 2010 1:58 pm

    I’ve never managed to learn to pronounce ‘anecdote’ correctly, and so go out of my way to avoid using it (except with my mother, who forgives me for using ‘antidote’ instead).

    My own ‘grouchy’ complaint these days is students who refer to any book that is not a textbook as a ‘novel’. Historical study, sociological monograph, anthropological ethnography, etc. =/= ‘novel’.

  5. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    March 10, 2010 10:26 am

    Vidya: Everyone I know has that problem. Students think that “novel” means any kind of “book.”

Leave a Reply

