Skip to content

My Addiction

March 27, 2010

I think I’m addicted to good class sessions.

When I have a bad class, I go into withdrawal and feel terrible. (The first two days back from spring break were horrible. Every lecture fell flat, either because of my lack of energy or the students’.)

When I have a good class, I ride high like I’m queen of the world. (By the third day back from break we recovered.)

My self-esteem is primarily determined by the looks on my students faces: do they look entertained, excited, interested? or barely awake, bored, annoyed?

Do any of you get equally wrapped up in your students’ reactions to your teaching?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. anonymous permalink
    April 2, 2010 12:26 pm

    hey, i really enjoy your blog. i’m not a teacher or anything, i’m an undergrad student in the UK. but at times (like this post) your enthusiasm for teaching is quite inspiring…since this had no comments i thought i’d add that message.

  2. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    April 2, 2010 12:33 pm

    Thanks anonymous!

Leave a Reply

