Skip to content

Madhyamika

April 8, 2010

I’m wondering if the following video might be good for teaching of the central lessons of Nagarjuna’s Madhyamika: naming things gives us the illusion of substance or essence where there is none.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. fuzzytheory permalink
    April 8, 2010 4:13 pm

    I can see where you are going with this, and I like it. Subtle. The reactions at the end of the video point to what I would argue is a fundamental aspect of the Madhyamaka critique: the attachment to essences (as naming) causes dukkha. I’d like to know how it goes.

  2. April 8, 2010 9:01 pm

    You have the IT crowd in Amerikkka?

  3. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    April 9, 2010 9:24 am

    fuzzytheory: I’ll let you know if I remember to use it next wee,

    Sophia: no, not to my knowledge (though I don’t have cable—it might be on there). I just discovered it because a friend of mine posted it to facebook.

Leave a Reply

