Skip to content

Avalokiteshvara and Little Red Riding Hood

April 20, 2010

Whenever I show a picture of Avalokiteshvara with his many arms and heads, I think about Little Red Riding Hood meeting the wolf.

She says, “What big eyes you have,” and he responds, “all the better to see you with.”

I see Avalokiteshvara and say, “You have eleven freakin’ heads!” and he responds, “all the better to hear the cries of suffering beings.”

I say, “You have a thousand freakin’ arms!” and he responds, “all the better to help suffering beings.”

I told my students this and they thought I was just weird.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 8:23 pm

    I love it. But your students got no sofistikashon. Do they have any sense of the funny?

  2. fuzzytheory permalink
    April 21, 2010 12:22 am

    :) haha I like it. I wonder how that would work for, say, Bhairava or Chammunda or Kali? “My Kali, what a large tongue you have?”

Leave a Reply

