Skip to content

Ugh

May 3, 2010

Teaching about race is emotionally exhausting—more so than any other topic I teach about.

I’m glad the semester is almost over.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 7:39 pm

    and for something really depressing although as an american you probably already know about it (I just saw it on a blog – I wouldn’t have known they’d found Noah’s ark again if I didn’t flick over the blogs) Anyway this is shocking and made me feel ill.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/04/28/harvard-racist-email_n_555247.html
    she should never graduate and I hope she never has children. I’d never let her near mine if I had any.

  2. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    May 3, 2010 8:16 pm

    Yes, I did see that somewhere. It’s effed up.

  3. May 5, 2010 12:01 pm

    It is a tough topic. I just finished a graduate seminar in biological anthropology in which we covered race using numerous articles that might interest or be of use to you. If you would like me to forward them, let me know. They may lessen the exhaustion next time around.

  4. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    May 5, 2010 12:35 pm

    Sure, I’d love to see them! Send them to missivesfrommarx at gmail dot com.

Leave a comment