Skip to content

AAR and SBL

June 28, 2010

I just got an email from the AAR saying that “the Society of Biblical Literature and American Academy of Religion signed a Letter of Intent” that they will hold meetings together from 2011 to 2019.

I’m happy about this, if only because I’ll get to see my SBL friends on a regular basis now!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 9:40 am

    Sheffield Biblical Studies department always put on the best receptions. Second is the Norwegian biblical scholars. They don’t share their oil $ by joining the EU, but they put on a nice spread those Saudis of Europe… This is great news.

  2. June 28, 2010 7:24 pm

    Hey VM were you there in New Orleans?! The reception with James in his customised BW3 pale blue suit? The Sheffield reception lasts til the following morning papers. :-)

  3. June 29, 2010 2:15 am

    No I missed New Orleans, I was at the AAR meeting in Montreal. James in a BW3 pale blue suit is something I would have liked to see, though. I got absurdly drunk at the Sheffield reception in San Diego in 2007. We ended up in this bar at the top of the hotel surrounded by fog. I was convinced we was getting raptured up into the clouds.

  4. June 29, 2010 11:15 pm

    Isn’t it funny how the two societies have reinvented the past and can now present concurrent annual meetings as a wonderful new thing?

    I was in a meeting in San Antonio in 2004 with then-AAR executive director Barbara Deconcini ramrodding through the separate meeting plan, and a couple of people were literally in tears over not having both at the same time. They should be happier now, I hope.

    At least the years of separation permitted the AAR to add program units; I don’t know about SBL.

  5. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    June 30, 2010 8:55 am

    Hi Chas! Religion scholars are EXPERTS on reinventing the past to suit present purposes, right? ;)

    What was your take on the split? I heard from one “inside” source that it was all about the SBL letting the AAR people do all the grunt work in preparation for the conference.

  6. June 30, 2010 9:23 am

    VM – ye plobibly was gettin rapchard up into the clouds but ye higher self resisted. He still swears it was grey. Twusint – twus shiney blue and proof our James is colourblind. It would have been funny if his dress twin the BW3 showed up – I could’av sliced him up with the slithers of melon. So who is going to Atlanta of you two phantom bloggers?

  7. missivesfrommarx permalink*
    June 30, 2010 9:24 am

    I’ll be in Atlanta; I’m even presenting a paper for the first time in several years. You?

Leave a Reply

